Chocolate Software Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: PortTest fails with firewall off and no router  (Read 5403 times)

djsmithfl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
PortTest fails with firewall off and no router
« on: July 30, 2011, 06:50:45 AM »

I am running porttest with a direct connection to my modem and windows firewall OFF and it stil fails all port terts. FSHost also fails with "unadle to establish...my ip address' etc. Any ideas?
Dave Smith
Logged

Russell Gilbert

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1476
    • FSHost
Re: PortTest fails with firewall off and no router
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2011, 06:59:05 AM »

Hi Dave,

Tough one. A couple of things I can think to check...

First, you said you don't have a router, only a modem. But some modems do have firewalls in them. You might check the model and see if you can find a manual online somewhere, to make sure it's not blocking things.

Second, it could just be your ISP. If all else fails, give them a call and see if they're blocking incoming connections on the ports FSHost needs.

Third, please post the entire error message(s) you're seeing -- sometimes the details will give clues as to the problem. Is it only the connection to the Master Server? Are players able to connect to the game?

Thanks,
Russell
Logged

Homer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
Re: PortTest fails with firewall off and no router
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2011, 07:13:20 AM »

If possible, can you post the brand and model of the modem ?
Logged
The Ultimate Global Tours
http://99.225.112.96:9901/

djsmithfl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: PortTest fails with firewall off and no router
« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2011, 02:36:50 PM »

I do have a router, linksys WRT54G but I diconnected it for this test, I have the ports forwarded in the router, but it does not seem to make a differance, I get the same results with the router connected or not {ERROR TIMED OUT WATING.....}. As for the modem it is a DSL 660 from CenturyLink.
Dave
Logged

Homer

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 38
Re: PortTest fails with firewall off and no router
« Reply #4 on: July 30, 2011, 02:57:56 PM »

Ok, just to be sure at the begin, which OS do you have?
Logged
The Ultimate Global Tours
http://99.225.112.96:9901/

djsmithfl

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: PortTest fails with firewall off and no router
« Reply #5 on: July 30, 2011, 04:26:31 PM »

All set!!!
I set up the modem, EQ-660R, NAT page with all ports using IP 192.168.2.2 and had to turn the firewall off in the modem, still on in PC. Also set up forwarding of all same ports in Router using PC IP 192.168.1.XXX {XXX my PC running FSHost}. Thanks for your help, I totally forgot about the modem.
Dave
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up