Chocolate Software Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: FSNavigator unable to connect to Netgear WNR1000v2 router  (Read 6306 times)

Kenny Fox

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22
  • fsvkenny@fsvintageair.com
    • FSVintageAIR
FSNavigator unable to connect to Netgear WNR1000v2 router
« on: July 24, 2012, 02:33:08 PM »

Hi Guys :D

I have a Netgear WNR1000v2 router. I've been able to open all of the ports for the FSHost Server and TeamSpeak Server, but even though I've opened the port 23432 for FSNav no one can connect to the FSHost server on my server computer. Has anyone here worked with a netgear router before and if so what do I need to do to get the router to let FSNav through?


Thank you for your time and help,
Kenny
kenny@fsvintageair.com
« Last Edit: July 24, 2012, 05:55:08 PM by Russell Gilbert »
Logged
Thank you
FSV1142 Kenny
fsvkenny@fsvintageair.com

Air SeaTac

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 96
    • Air SeaTac Virtual
Re: Netgear
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2012, 03:57:43 PM »

You don't say, but I presume you've used the UDP protocol for this port?
Logged

Kenny Fox

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22
  • fsvkenny@fsvintageair.com
    • FSVintageAIR
Re: Netgear
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2012, 05:07:18 PM »

Yes, I tried TCP/UDP ans just UDP.
Logged
Thank you
FSV1142 Kenny
fsvkenny@fsvintageair.com

Russell Gilbert

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1476
    • FSHost
Re: Netgear
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2012, 05:54:02 PM »

Hi,

Have you done a test of your ports with my FSPortTest program?

FSNav may try to connect on a port like 23432, but in reality, there's nothing on the server that's listening on that port. So when FSNav doesn't get an answer back, it switches over to 6073 and 2302-2400, just like FS does.  So you could just as easily be using port 1000 or 44000, and the same ports will end up being used.

If you get a successful test with FSPortTest, FSNav should be able to connect also.

Russell
Logged

Russell Gilbert

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1476
    • FSHost
Re: FSNavigator unable to connect to Netgear WNR1000v2 router
« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2012, 06:06:25 PM »

BTW, the reason FSNav defaults to that port is mostly just because it's not 23456. If you're running FSHost, FS, and FSNav on the same machine, only one of them can use 23456, and that's FSHost. That's why when you connect your own FS to the session on the same machine, you usually switch the port to something like 23457, although it doesn't really matter what it is, because as I said above, it'll end up trying 6073 anyway, and get in there instead. The same is true for FSNav, and I'm sure that's why the author picked 23432 as the default -- because it's not 23456.

Moral of the story: make sure 6073 and 2302-2400 are working, and don't worry about 23432.

Russell

Logged

Kenny Fox

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 22
  • fsvkenny@fsvintageair.com
    • FSVintageAIR
Re: FSNavigator unable to connect to Netgear WNR1000v2 router
« Reply #5 on: July 24, 2012, 06:31:03 PM »

Hi Russell, thank you for the replay.

Here is a screen shot of the port fowarding on my router. I've opend all of the port that need to bee opened and non of the guys can connect there FSNav to my servers. I have three FSHost servers running on the same computer with ports 23456, 23457 and 23459 opend in the XP firewall and on the router.

Logged
Thank you
FSV1142 Kenny
fsvkenny@fsvintageair.com
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

anything