Chocolate Software Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Almost there?  (Read 5614 times)

Hans_Palsson

Almost there?
« on: September 25, 2003, 07:20:30 PM »

Hi there!

Im a newbie - installed FSHost 3 today - my first attempt also in configuring my router to not only block...

I read a few other posts here, but I didnt find an answer, so here goes;

Im running FSHost on my PC1, and FS2004 on PC2. Theyre both behind my router/nat-firewall. I start a session in FShost, and it shows ok in FSHostSpy. Using my internal (LAN) IP I have no problems finding and joining my hosted session, but when using the external (WAN) IP FS2004 finds the session, but Im not able to join - "no connection" says a message... due to time-out I think. I also think that noone outside has been able to access neither, but my PC is not running 24/7...  :)

Ive opened up port 23456 for both PCs, and port 81, 6073 and 2302-2400 for PC1. I had to change Port 80 in FSHost to 81, since it reported that 80 was already in use...

Am I missing anything obvious here? All hints & tips most welcome!

Regards

/hans

Russell Gilbert

• Administrator
  • Guru
    • FSHost
Re: Almost there?
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2003, 08:51:30 PM »

Hi Hans,

It sounds like you're doing everything correctly, although you probably only need to open 23456 and 81.  The other ports shouldn't be necessary when 23456 is available.  (that's something new in FS2004, most other DirectPlay games still need 6073 and 2302-2400)

The fact that FSHostSpy is finding your game ok means that at least port 81 is working ok, so we need to see about 23456.

Can you send me an email, or post here, when you have your server running again?  Maybe someone can try connecting to your game, to see if it's working.