Chocolate Software Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: D-Link router  (Read 6158 times)

N32A90

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
D-Link router
« on: July 13, 2004, 02:58:54 PM »

I've seen similar forums, so I was just wondering how can I change my router's port settings?
Logged

Mark_Cherry

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 28
  • Blimey! Is that the time??
    • My PC Spec
Re: D-Link router
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2004, 12:15:27 AM »

What?

no configuration software, no program-help file, no user manual, no online (web) help facilities? Not the best advert for the brand.

Wish I had something more constructive to say...  :-/


Mark
(not on a router)

Logged
regards,

Mark
NA698G
AHC Noble Air London Gatwick Hub

MGS223

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
Re: D-Link router
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2004, 08:21:15 PM »

      ok if you haven't changed any settings go to "http://192.168.0.1" and name is admin and there is no pass. (as long as you have changed nothing)
   next you want to go to advanced. you are now in a port forwarding page.  if you want to just open up a port inbounds and outbounds go to the 2nd button down on the left.  you are now in a page where you can open up ports so a program can work right. ( btw u can open multiple ports at a time like 2300-2400)
  thats how you change your port settings
Logged

The_Peace_Keeper

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
Re: D-Link router
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2004, 11:58:42 AM »

What ports should i open? ???
Logged

Russell Gilbert

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1473
    • FSHost
Re: D-Link router
« Reply #4 on: October 17, 2004, 06:22:53 PM »

« Last Edit: October 17, 2004, 06:24:34 PM by russell »
Logged

jordan

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 15
  • Have you flown your Helicopter Today?
Re: D-Link router
« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2005, 07:00:13 AM »

For instructions on how to configure your specific router... http://www.portforward.com is a fairly helpful website.

For D-LINK model *604 users.....IMPORTANT...

Use Tools->Misc tab to disable UPnP!  This has to be done in addition to fowarding the appropriate ports (6073,23456 for FS2004).

Logged
Jordan M.

Russell Gilbert

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1473
    • FSHost
Re: D-Link router
« Reply #6 on: February 13, 2005, 10:48:52 AM »

Thanks Jordan.

Just a quick note to add to your post though...  Be sure to forward all the ports for whichever version(s) of FS you're supporting -- the two you mentioned are not the only ones.  The link above to the FSHost Help page has all the info.

Thanks,
Russell
« Last Edit: February 13, 2005, 10:50:09 AM by russell »
Logged

NB_UK

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
  • I love YaBB 1G - SP1! - emm ok Ya whooo???
Re: D-Link router
« Reply #7 on: March 06, 2005, 05:24:07 AM »

I am currently using a D-Link DI-714P+ with great success.

If you still need to know what ports to forward I could sent you a copy of all my settings.
Logged

Wrenchca

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: D-Link router
« Reply #8 on: April 28, 2005, 04:47:41 AM »

Also, another thing to consider is to set your FShost machine up to be a static IP.  This will save you untold grief! ;)
A big problem exists with routers and dynamic IP addresses.  If you forward a game port to a specific IP, then later on down the road, the dynamic IP addresses get re-assigned in a different order, the ports will be forwarded to the wrong machine.
I have seen people get programs to work perfectly for a few weeks and then quit for no apparent reason...or so they think.

Bottom line, save yourself the static...Go Static!!

http://www.portforward.com/  has all the info you could ever need for this.

Good Luck
Chuck
CYXU
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

anything