Chocolate Software Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Trouble with FSHostSpy 1.1  (Read 5239 times)

skogsgubbe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Trouble with FSHostSpy 1.1
« on: August 28, 2004, 05:50:20 PM »

Hello!

After using FSHostSpy 1.1 for some weeks without any problems (having much Fun  :) ) it suddenly stopped working. At startup resp. after pressing F5, an error message appears saying "Eror getting server list from master server." followed by something similar to "The system can't find the disired file" ("similar" means that I translated this second part of the error message as it was in german according to my german version of Win XP).
Of course I checked the correct url in the options and I can read the fshost_master.cgi with my browser.

Can anybody help me?

Greetings from Germany!
Logged

Russell Gilbert

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1476
    • FSHost
Re: Trouble with FSHostSpy 1.1
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2004, 05:49:33 AM »

Hi,

Very strange that you'd be able to connect to the Master Server in a browser, but not in FSHostSpy, since FSHostSpy just uses a modified type of Internet Explorer internally to retrieve the server list.  It's not really IE, but it's using the Windows browser control to retrieve the list via the same HTTP connection that your browser would use.  So I can't see why ports would have anything to do with it.

Are you running a firewall, or some kind of web proxy?

Have you done anything funny like try to remove IE lately?  :-)

Russell
Logged

skogsgubbe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: Trouble with FSHostSpy 1.1
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2004, 10:00:34 AM »

Hi Russel!

Thank you for your reply!

I stopped doing senseless things like trying to remove IE long time ago  ;)

But I'm running the WIN XP Firewall. I will try to run FSH after temporarily disabling the firewall. Maybe that'll help...

Thomas  :)
Logged

skogsgubbe

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3
Re: Trouble with FSHostSpy 1.1
« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2004, 08:08:44 PM »

Hallo again!

...and it works again!  :)

But please, don't ask me why.
I disengaged the WIN XP firewall and startet FSHS... after a  v-e-r-y long time I got an error message that it couldn't find any host. Same thing with firewall engaged. Then, I renembered that, after successlessly trying to connect last time, I had changed the options. So, I changed the Master Server URL to the default value and suddenly it works!!!
Actually, I only "switched" the firewall off and on  ???

Anyway, it works again due to your remark on firewalls and I'm very thankful!
And, once again, I realised that Windows and logic not always is very close to each others.

Looking forward to many hours of online-flying...

Thomas  :)
Logged

Russell Gilbert

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1476
    • FSHost
Re: Trouble with FSHostSpy 1.1
« Reply #4 on: September 02, 2004, 10:24:55 PM »

Hey, great to hear!

I think maybe the problem was sun spots  ;D

Russell
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

anything