Chocolate Software Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]  All   Go Down

Author Topic: FSPortTest (use this tool to check your network)  (Read 137910 times)

Russell Gilbert

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1467
    • FSHost
Re: FSPortTest (use this tool to check your network)
« Reply #45 on: November 20, 2015, 08:38:50 AM »

Just use free flight. The multiplayer area in FSX is completely different, and not compatible with FSHost.

Russell
Logged

tray.geboy1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: FSPortTest (use this tool to check your network)
« Reply #46 on: November 20, 2015, 08:44:36 AM »

Just use free flight. The multiplayer area in FSX is completely different, and not compatible with FSHost.

Russell

OK as long as they join the fshost client and go to the same airport then we will be able to fly together?
Logged

Russell Gilbert

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1467
    • FSHost
Re: FSPortTest (use this tool to check your network)
« Reply #47 on: November 20, 2015, 08:50:18 AM »

As long as they connect to your FSHost session, either directly with FS2002 or FS2004, or via FSHostClient if they're using FSX, FSX:SE, or Prepar3d, then yes, you should be able to see each other if you're near each other in the sim. Each person in the session needs to setup their port forwarding and test their network using FSPortTest.

Russell
Logged

tray.geboy1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: FSPortTest (use this tool to check your network)
« Reply #48 on: November 20, 2015, 08:51:45 AM »

As long as they connect to your FSHost session, either directly with FS2002 or FS2004, or via FSHostClient if they're using FSX, FSX:SE, or Prepar3d, then yes, you should be able to see each other if you're near each other in the sim. Each person in the session needs to setup their port forwarding and test their network using FSPortTest.

Russell
Is there a way they do not have to port forward?
Logged

Russell Gilbert

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1467
    • FSHost
Re: FSPortTest (use this tool to check your network)
« Reply #49 on: November 20, 2015, 08:52:48 AM »

No, sorry. It's part of the way Microsoft Flight Simulator works.

Russell
Logged

tray.geboy1

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 8
Re: FSPortTest (use this tool to check your network)
« Reply #50 on: November 20, 2015, 08:59:13 AM »

No, sorry. It's part of the way Microsoft Flight Simulator works.

Russell

OK thanks I will tell them if you would like check out my community website. www.futurepilotsofamerica.weebly.com
« Last Edit: November 20, 2015, 09:33:51 AM by Russell Gilbert »
Logged

KerryBrown

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
Re: Sticky: FSPortTest - network test tool - check your network setup
« Reply #51 on: April 04, 2020, 01:13:04 PM »

Hi guys, thanks for the feedback.

I increased the timeouts a bit to hopefully get rid of a few of the "requesting URL" timeout errors (that's the part where it's asking the server to send back a message to the port) and changed several of the messages to be a bit more helpful, including the "press any key" message, and added new summary messages at the end.

Wheelie: I think it's best not to add any more ports to the default list because they'd just time out and produce errors for most people.  But you can easily add them to your own list using the instructions in my original post.  Or if you find yourself wanting to test your machine on a regular basis, you can create a shortcut to the program that will always test whatever ports you want.  Here's how...  Open an Explorer window to the directory where you saved the program, right-click the file and select Copy, right-click in a blank area of the same directory and select "Paste Shortcut", then right-click on the new shortcut you just made and select Properties, then in the "Target" box, add a space after the program name, followed by all the extra ports you want to test, with a space between each one.  For example, "C:\FSPortTest.exe 23450 23451 23452".  Then you can rename the shortcut to something like "My FSPortTest", and whenever you run it, it'll test the additional ports as well.  Also, you asked about your IP address...  The 10.0.0.50 IP address is a fake one that you normally see only on your local network -- like 192.168.x.x, for example.  I don't know why they're seeing that on the server, but I've seen it happen before, so it's probably nothing to worry about.  FSHost reports your IP address when it first starts up, since you'll need to give it to other people so they can connect to you, but people don't usually need it if they're just connecting to someone else's session.  You can always go to www.whatismyip.com though, if you want to check it.

Thanks guys, and I'm still interested in hearing reports from anyone else that tries it.  I'm thinking that if this continues to be useful, it might be something that could be incorporated into FSHost and FSHostClient so you could run it directly from inside those programs.  Then FS2002 and FS2004 users could still download the separate program to test their networks as well.

Russell
Thank you for providing the information. I am now whatismyaddress quite frequently to identify such ip related issues. Though  have also made my own ip checking tool https://www.reviewsed.com/what-is-my-ip/ though it not that effective but it is nevertheless still quite useful.
« Last Edit: April 04, 2020, 01:19:54 PM by KerryBrown »
Logged
Pages: 1 2 3 [4]  All   Go Up