Chocolate Software Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: NETGEAR DG834 and FS2002  (Read 9217 times)

evanswillo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
NETGEAR DG834 and FS2002
« on: December 05, 2004, 07:05:39 AM »

I am trying to connect to Fs2002 Hosts.
I have a Netgear DG834 Router.

Ports required for an FS2002 session:

TCP port 47624

UDP ports 2300 to 2400 (the entire range)

I have created Services for both and applied them to the Firewall Rules Outbound Services.

But still once I launch FS2002 I can see nothing.

Sorry for asking, I have search all through the posts.

Thanks for any help.
Logged

Russell Gilbert

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1476
    • FSHost
Re: NETGEAR DG834 and FS2002
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2004, 07:14:26 AM »

Hi,

Usually these ports need to be open for inbound connections, not outbound.  Most firewalls will allow outbound connections from your machine with nothing special setup -- but they won't allow incoming data unless you specifically allow it.  Try forwarding the same ports for incoming data, and see if that works better.

Russell
Logged

evanswillo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: NETGEAR DG834 and FS2002
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2004, 08:35:33 AM »

Thanks but this is still confusing me.

I know need to enter a LAN Ip address.

Is this my the address of my pc or the host pc.
Logged

Russell Gilbert

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1476
    • FSHost
Re: NETGEAR DG834 and FS2002
« Reply #3 on: December 05, 2004, 08:40:37 AM »

The LAN IP address is also called your "local" IP address.  It's a fake address that's only valid inside your local network, and it's the one your router forwards data to when you forward a port.

You also have one "external" IP address, which is shared by all the machines on your local network, and that's the IP that other people on the internet connect to when they join your session.

You can find your local IP address by opening a DOS/Command window (Start / Programs / Accessories) and typing "ipconfig".  (If you're on Win95, go to Start / Run, enter "winipcfg" and click OK)  You should do this on the machine running FSHost, and then enter that local IP into the router when you setup the port forwarding.

Russell
Logged

evanswillo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: NETGEAR DG834 and FS2002
« Reply #4 on: December 05, 2004, 09:19:24 AM »

Still now luck.
I have started a Host game called test rew that say it is registered with the master server. Are you able to see it ?
Logged

Russell Gilbert

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1476
    • FSHost
Re: NETGEAR DG834 and FS2002
« Reply #5 on: December 05, 2004, 09:44:38 AM »

Yes, I was able to see it for a moment, but it looks like you've stopped the session now, or changed something in your router, because I don't see it anymore.  Let us know when you have it up again.

Russell
Logged

evanswillo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: NETGEAR DG834 and FS2002
« Reply #6 on: December 05, 2004, 09:47:04 AM »

Right I've just start FSHost
Logged

Russell Gilbert

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1476
    • FSHost
Re: NETGEAR DG834 and FS2002
« Reply #7 on: December 05, 2004, 09:50:29 AM »

Ok, I see it now in FSHostSpy (via the Master Server), and in FS2002's multiplayer connect window, I can see the session listed, and the session comments.  But when I try to join the session, it can't connect.  This means that I'm able to connect to your FSHost ok on TCP 47624, but not on UDP 2300 to 2400 (in this case I can see that it's actually trying to connect on UDP 2300, but it sometimes uses other ports also).  Do you have the UDP ports forwarded ok?  If your router doesn't let you forward the entire range, then try forwarding just 2300, 2301, and 2302.

Russell
Logged

evanswillo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: NETGEAR DG834 and FS2002
« Reply #8 on: December 05, 2004, 09:56:17 AM »

Ok udp 2300 forwarded
Logged

Russell Gilbert

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1476
    • FSHost
Re: NETGEAR DG834 and FS2002
« Reply #9 on: December 05, 2004, 09:59:29 AM »

You need to forward several ports.  I can see that it's switched to 2301 now when it's trying to connect.  I'd suggest forwarding at least 3 ports, but more is better.  It can use any port in the 2300-2400 range, but it tends to use them starting with 2300.

Russell
Logged

evanswillo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: NETGEAR DG834 and FS2002
« Reply #10 on: December 05, 2004, 10:03:18 AM »

OK 2300 2301 2302 open
Logged

Russell Gilbert

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1476
    • FSHost
Re: NETGEAR DG834 and FS2002
« Reply #11 on: December 05, 2004, 10:39:23 AM »

I'm still not able to connect on 2300 or 2301 for some reason.  You're sure those ports are forwarded to the same local IP as 47624 is?

Also, I tried sending you an email to your hotmail address, but didn't get a reply.  Send me an email and we'll try to work this out.

Russell
Logged

evanswillo

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: NETGEAR DG834 and FS2002
« Reply #12 on: December 05, 2004, 10:13:53 PM »

Connection working know.
inbound tcp 47624
inbound tcp 2300-2400
No UDP ports.
Thanks for all your help
See you online
Logged

Russell Gilbert

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1476
    • FSHost
Re: NETGEAR DG834 and FS2002
« Reply #13 on: December 05, 2004, 10:22:53 PM »

Glad to hear you got it working.

The Microsoft spec for DirectX actually says that FS2002 uses both TCP and UDP 2300-2400, but it's been my experience that it seems to try lots of different options until it finds a port it can talk on, and then it settles there.  Since FS2004 uses only UDP, most people find it easier to just forward the UDP ports.  Anyway, good to know that it can work on TCP as well.

Thanks,
Russell
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up
 

anything