Chocolate Software Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Down

Author Topic: Connection  (Read 29088 times)

Ace

  • Guest
Connection
« on: July 21, 2003, 01:33:57 PM »

I don`t know if this was already in the fourms, cause i just joined, but, when i run FSHost, or even fs2002 server, nobody can connect.  I opened all the ports.  I can`t even see my server unless i say "localhost".  Can any1 help me? ???
« Last Edit: July 21, 2003, 01:34:52 PM by Ace »
Logged

Russell Gilbert

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1472
    • FSHost
Re: Connection
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2003, 06:46:14 PM »

Hi Ace,

Yes, routers are always a problem with FS2002. Some people have had success configuring their router, and some haven't.  It seems to depend on which router you have, and exactly how your network is setup.  Unfortunately I don't know how to configure all the various kinds of routers, but please take a look at the last section of the Help page, where there are several things to try, and tips from other users:

http://www.chocolatesoftware.com/fshost/?help.html#ports

You can also tell us more about your router and your network setup, and maybe someone can help.

Thanks,

Russell
Logged

Ace

  • Guest
Re: Connection
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2003, 11:16:47 PM »

Well, i got an linksys etherfast router, and i share it with 3 computers.  I opened all the ports, I did everything other than ics.  The three computers os`s are Win XP, Win XP, And Win 98. Im running DSL.  Is there anything i can do?
« Last Edit: July 21, 2003, 11:17:28 PM by Ace »
Logged

Russell Gilbert

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1472
    • FSHost
Re: Connection
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2003, 11:32:19 PM »

Here are the things I know to try... but I have to say that I haven't had much luck with this either :-(

1. Use Port Forwarding to forward the following ports to the machine where you're running FSHost/FS2002:

47624 - TCP
2300 to 2400 - TCP and UDP

2. If that doesn't work, you can try putting your machine in the DMZ.  This will tell the router to send all data on all ports to your machine.

3. Disable Universal Plug-and-Play.  Go to the Setup tab, then the Password tab, and disable "UPnP Services".  I've found that with this feature enabled, I can't find the server at all when I click the Search button in FS2002.

Port triggers are only needed if you have more than one machine behind the firewall that you're trying to get working with FSHost/FS2002.  You don't need to use triggers if you're only working with one machine.

Hope this helps,

Russell
Logged

Andy King

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2
    • Hawarden Virtual Airport
Re: Connection
« Reply #4 on: July 22, 2003, 04:04:34 PM »

Hi Russel,
When saying......

2. If that doesn't work, you can try putting your machine in the DMZ.  This will tell the router to send all data on all ports to your machine.

Please also say that DMZ opens the Machine up to the Internet so a software firewall on that machine would be required to stop the inevitable.
Logged
Andy King
CEO ChauffAir & Beluga Operations

PeterR

  • Senior Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 158
    • Bush Flying Unlimited
Re: Connection
« Reply #5 on: July 22, 2003, 04:24:50 PM »

The key thing is Port Forwarding. When you open the ports, it means that data is allowed to come in to the network. However, the router doesn't know where that data is supposed to go. The port forwarding setup tells the router that data that comes in on those ports should go to the PC with IP address xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx.

You can think of opening ports like opening the door to the post office. Port forwarding is like specifying who gets what mail when it arrives at the post office.
Logged
Peter
Bush Flying Unlimited
"At home in the wild"

Ace

  • Guest
Re: Connection
« Reply #6 on: July 22, 2003, 06:21:25 PM »

I already knew about port fowarding and dmz (not being harsh or mean) but the other stuff ill try out.  It seems my router does not like me.   :-[.

I got norton anti-virus (i got some secure hunk of junk here) too, would that effect it?
« Last Edit: July 22, 2003, 06:22:59 PM by Ace »
Logged

Ace

  • Guest
Re: Connection
« Reply #7 on: July 22, 2003, 06:24:05 PM »

I also got dx 8.1..........whould that make a difference if i got 9.0a?
Logged

Ace

  • Guest
Re: Connection
« Reply #8 on: July 22, 2003, 06:40:03 PM »

I tried port fowarding, disable upnp, and even DMZ, but to no avail.  I bet if i got DX 9, it would help me out (stop me if i am wrong) due to updated directplay.  Mannnnn, this is certianly pissing me offfffffff. *cries*  GOD DAMN ROUTER, I WANT TO SEE IT BURN!! *cries some more*
Logged

jonf

  • Guru
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 211
    • Livewire Airlines
Re: Connection
« Reply #9 on: July 22, 2003, 07:01:20 PM »

You shouldn't have  problem running FSHost with DX8.1 (I run it on NT with DX7) but I find that if a pre DX9 user connects to FSHost then it will kill the entire server within a few minutes. FSHost begins to go from 0-5% resource usage to 90% usage. Try bypassing the router completely. If it works then you know that it is a router issue and where to spend your time debugging. If it still doesn't work then you won't waste too much time looking in the wrong place.
Logged

Ace

  • Guest
Re: Connection
« Reply #10 on: July 22, 2003, 08:59:37 PM »

jonf, ya know, that a very good idea, ill try a direct connection. if that doesent work, ill chuck the computer out my window.  ;D ;D
Logged

Ace

  • Guest
Re: Connection
« Reply #11 on: July 22, 2003, 10:39:25 PM »

Tried direct connection, but to no avail! wtf is the problem. *cries*
Logged

Russell Gilbert

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1472
    • FSHost
Re: Connection
« Reply #12 on: July 22, 2003, 10:44:34 PM »

By "direct connection", I'm assuming you connected your PC directly to the cable or DSL, and still nobody could connect to you.

At that point, there are a couple of things to look at.  One is that the person joining is using the correct IP address.  Usually you can find your own external IP by going to http://www.whatismyip.com.  However, you should also start up FSHost and see what it reports, to make sure it's the same.

You should also try turning off all firewall software, including the one built into XP.  If you need help with that, let us know.

You can also try turning on Remote Access in FSHost, and then see if someone can access the public web page by just typing your IP address into a browser.

Russell
« Last Edit: July 22, 2003, 10:45:07 PM by russell »
Logged

Ace

  • Guest
Re: Connection
« Reply #13 on: July 22, 2003, 11:20:37 PM »

Well, i had the right i.p all along, i went into the remote acess webpage.....all fine.  I have no clue what is going on.  Also, the only firewall i have on is the router hardware firewall.  But the router is not the problem.
« Last Edit: July 22, 2003, 11:21:34 PM by Ace »
Logged

Russell Gilbert

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1472
    • FSHost
Re: Connection
« Reply #14 on: July 22, 2003, 11:23:16 PM »

Is anyone else able to get to your Remote Access public page?
« Last Edit: July 22, 2003, 11:24:38 PM by russell »
Logged
Pages: [1] 2 3  All   Go Up
 

anything