Chocolate Software Forums

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4  All   Go Down

Author Topic: FSPortTest (use this tool to check your network)  (Read 129701 times)

Russell Gilbert

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1457
    • FSHost
Re: Sticky: FSPortTest - network test tool - check your network setup
« Reply #15 on: January 17, 2008, 08:58:01 AM »

Hi Mark,

Based on some quick searches around the web, it looks like your modem has a firewall in it.  You might try disabling it to see if that helps -- or if you have another way of connecting to the internet, that would be a good test also, to see if it's related to your modem.

Russell
Logged

mark786

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
Re: Sticky: FSPortTest - network test tool - check your network setup
« Reply #16 on: January 17, 2008, 06:53:44 PM »

Thanks Russell,

That sounds like it could be my problem. I'll do some investigating.
Logged

mark786

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
Re: Sticky: FSPortTest - network test tool - check your network setup
« Reply #17 on: January 17, 2008, 07:11:21 PM »

Russell,

Disabling the modem firewall did not help. I then changed the modem from routing mode to bridge mode and that worked for FSHost but I am unable to connect to the internet in bridge mode.
Logged

Russell Gilbert

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1457
    • FSHost
Re: Sticky: FSPortTest - network test tool - check your network setup
« Reply #18 on: January 17, 2008, 07:18:30 PM »

Ok, when you say you put the modem in bridge mode and that worked for FSHost, what do you mean exactly?

Also, maybe there's a way to explicitly forward ports in the modem as well?

Russell
Logged

mark786

  • Junior Member
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
Re: Sticky: FSPortTest - network test tool - check your network setup
« Reply #19 on: January 18, 2008, 11:54:32 AM »

Russell,

There was a section for port forwarding (NAT) in my modem. Once I took care of that, everything worked fine!
Thanks for all your help.

Mark
Logged

fjfisher

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 7
Re: Sticky: FSPortTest - network test tool - check your network setup
« Reply #20 on: March 30, 2008, 02:03:55 PM »

Russell

Thanks for your excellent tool, also FSHost and FSHostClient.

I have just changed ISP due to house move, which meant a new ADSL modem router( I was using a cable, but sadly not here.

The problem I am having, is that I cannot get 6073 recognized(error timeout) despite correctly forwarding the ports and assigning them to my main machine, (after many hours of finding out how to do it. Compared to my cable Lynksys, it is not easy to work through).

All the other ports set are OK, except for 6073. Would this be a reason why I can only connect to an FSHost session, if no-one else is on, and when on, blocking anyone else from joining??

I have disabled my machine firewall, tried disabling the router firewall(but not DMZ).

I have also installed FSHost on my laptop, and assigned that to my router, and can join that from my main machine, as long as no-one else is in.

A possible answer, as a long shot, is something in my machine setup, I am not looking forward to a reformat!!

So why I cannot get the green light on 6073 from your port test tool, is driving me crazy.

The answer is probably buried in your disabled forums.

Frank
Logged

Russell Gilbert

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1457
    • FSHost
Re: Sticky: FSPortTest - network test tool - check your network setup
« Reply #21 on: April 12, 2008, 08:05:05 AM »

Hi Frank, sorry for the delay.

If your machine isn't able to receive incoming data on port 6073 it could definitely have something to do with your connection problems.

Are you able to run FSHost and start an FS2004/FSX session on the main machine?

Also, you mentioned you had a laptop.  Is FSPortTest able to receive data on port 6073 on that machine?  I'm trying to figure out if it's a problem on the main machine that's somehow blocking that port, or if it's a problem with any machine on your network, because maybe it's being blocked by your router or modem.

Russell
Logged

wbunn

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: Sticky: FSPortTest - network test tool - check your network setup
« Reply #22 on: May 29, 2008, 01:18:32 PM »

Russell,

Thanks for the great porttest utility.  I've been working for months attempting to get a friends computer to host a Flight Simulator or FSHost multiplayer session ... no one can connect to him but he can connect to other sessions. I'm going to have him run this test to help find the problem. The testport program works fine on my Vista computer with a LinkSys Router now except for a timeout error for port 6073. I can connect to the FSHost master server ok and can host or join other Flight Simulator Multiplayer sessions.   Should I be concerned about the timeout error on port 6073?

Logged

Bob_8712E

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 58
  • njhops.com
    • My Flight Sim Servers
Re: Sticky: FSPortTest - network test tool - check your network setup
« Reply #23 on: November 17, 2008, 07:38:49 PM »

The Router IP depends on the Router.
D-Link is 192.168.0.1 and Linksys is 192.168.1.1. If multiple routers are used they can be set to different IP's
Normally 192.168.x.100 is the beginning if the IP list of computers on the network.
    Hope this helps.
Logged
Robert A. Holland, "-BobH-", http://www.bobholland.com
http://www.njhops.com
FSHost: njhop.hopto.org

JayBee

  • Guest
Re: Sticky: FSPortTest - network test tool - check your network setup
« Reply #24 on: June 10, 2009, 05:31:44 AM »

I have just installed FS Host Client so that I could multiplayer connect to a friend's server and join him, and others.
I have run the FSportTest.exe file and everything is OK.
If I am the first one to connect, I can connect OK.
If anybody else joins - I am disconnected
If I try to connect after others have connected, i see the hour glass symbol and after about a minute, it all 'times out'
I have read through the FAQs and did not see anything quite like this.

Can anybody help please?

John
Logged

Russell Gilbert

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1457
    • FSHost
Re: Sticky: FSPortTest - network test tool - check your network setup
« Reply #25 on: June 30, 2009, 03:44:31 PM »

I have just installed FS Host Client so that I could multiplayer connect to a friend's server and join him, and others.
I have run the FSportTest.exe file and everything is OK.
If I am the first one to connect, I can connect OK.
If anybody else joins - I am disconnected
If I try to connect after others have connected, i see the hour glass symbol and after about a minute, it all 'times out'
I have read through the FAQs and did not see anything quite like this.

Can anybody help please?

John

These types of problems are always related to network connections.  If FSPortTest.exe is reporting that all ports are open on your machine, then it's probably something with the FSHost machine, or the other people joining.  FSPortTest can be run on those machines also, to help you find the problem.

Russell
Logged

MedallioN

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 4
Re: Sticky: FSPortTest - network test tool - check your network setup
« Reply #26 on: March 25, 2010, 07:34:10 PM »

Hi when i do a port test im getting errror timed out everywhere.
Logged

Russell Gilbert

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1457
    • FSHost
Re: Sticky: FSPortTest - network test tool - check your network setup
« Reply #27 on: March 28, 2010, 10:48:51 AM »

Hi when i do a port test im getting errror timed out everywhere.

Sounds like you haven't forwarded the Flight Simulator ports in your router.  See the first post in this thread for help with that -- especially the bottom part of that first post where it talks about ports.

Thanks,
Russell
Logged

Ali Matt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1
Re: Sticky: FSPortTest - network test tool - check your network setup
« Reply #28 on: May 02, 2010, 09:54:59 AM »

Hi Russell,

 I got your FS Port Test program, ran it and got some unusual results.  It began by saying ' testing ports for FS2002, FS2004, and FSHost Client for FSX...' then it began testing.  It tested all ports between 2300 to 2400, and ports 23456 and 6073.  And EVERY single one of them had at the end of it ' Error: timed out waiting for response'.

After it had done that, it said testing complete and that some ports aren't receiving data properly and I had to check my firewall and router settings.  And that i could press any key to exit.  Now, I only want to try and resolve an issue me and my friend are having with Flight Sim 2004. And that is, no matter the server, if he enters it, I can't get on it, if I enter it, HE can't get on it.  It happens regardless of the server, and the amount of people on the server.  We really want to get onto the same server and just fly, and if I'm honest, I'm getting quite desperate now.

 Thanks in advance,
 Ali
Logged

Russell Gilbert

  • Administrator
  • Guru
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1457
    • FSHost
Re: Sticky: FSPortTest - network test tool - check your network setup
« Reply #29 on: May 02, 2010, 10:35:51 AM »

some ports aren't receiving data properly and I had to check my firewall and router settings.

Hi Ali,

Did you check your firewall and router settings?  ;)

Russell
Logged
Pages: 1 [2] 3 4  All   Go Up